Hi,
The backup is made as a new plan with the word backup at the end of it. Thus, it will be in your list of plans. It will act like a normal plan so you can do whatever you want with it. I suggest testing this out in your sandbox so you can get used to it before touching production
Let me know if you have any other questions,
Lauren Griessel