Maximo

Expand all | Collapse all

Deactivate classifications?

  • 1.  Deactivate classifications?

    Posted Wed June 02, 2021 07:45 PM
    Edited by User1971 Tue September 14, 2021 03:17 PM

    MAM 7.6.1.2:

    I have classifications that were used in WOs that are now closed.
    Going forward, I want to prevent users from using the classifications in new/open WOs.

    Question:
    Is there a way to deactivate classifications, so that they're not available to users who are creating/editing WOs, but the classification information (i.e. hierarchy path) would still exist & be visible in the closed WOs?

    Thanks.



    RFE:
    Deactivate Classifications
    https://ibm-ai-apps.ideas.ibm.com/ideas/CONFIG-I-9

    Related:
    Condition/Global data restriction: Apply to multiple, specific applications



  • 2.  RE: Deactivate classifications?

    Posted Thu June 03, 2021 03:44 AM
    Simple answer is no.  There is no option and once used on the WO you cannot delete either.

    ------------------------------
    ===============================
    Craig Kokay,
    Lead Senior Maximo/IoT Consultant
    ISW
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Ph: 0411-682-040
    =================================
    #IBMChampion2021
    ------------------------------



  • 3.  RE: Deactivate classifications?

    Posted Tue June 15, 2021 02:53 AM
    We simply delete "Use with" relation so it cannot be used anymore.

    ------------------------------
    Peter Domankuš
    ------------------------------



  • 4.  RE: Deactivate classifications?

    Posted Thu June 03, 2021 09:01 AM

    One thing to try:

    Add an "Active" flag to classifications and create a data restriction for technicians such that only active classifications appear.  Since these are copied to a work order classification set of tables, those used would remain visible on any work order that had them already. 



    ------------------------------
    Steve Hauptman
    ------------------------------



  • 5.  RE: Deactivate classifications?

    Posted Thu June 03, 2021 09:33 AM
    @Steve Hauptman

    Thanks! That's a good idea.

    It sounds like it's the same sort of concept as this:
    Hide Inactive Classifications From Users



  • 6.  RE: Deactivate classifications?

    Posted Thu June 03, 2021 10:06 AM
    Yes. I have seen that concept used in a few places. It works well. But don't follow the linked article exactly. Calling the attribute "Inactive" means you're always dealing with a negative -- you have to double-negative to get a positive. That's crazy. Call it "Active" and set it by default. Then you can clear it to make it not active -- much more straight-forward logic.

    ------------------------------
    Blessings,
    Jason Uppenborn
    Sr. Technical Maximo Consultant
    Ontracks Consulting
    ------------------------------



  • 7.  RE: Deactivate classifications?

    Posted Tue June 15, 2021 11:37 PM
    Thanks. I had wondered about doing that.

    I created a test classification and added a USE WITH for WORKORDER. Then I used the classification in a WO.

    However, when I try to delete the USE WITH from that classification, I get an error. I get the error, even if the WO is closed.

    BMXAA0201E - This classification must have its Work Orders flag selected because it is currently being used to classify one or more Work Orders.


    Do you not get that error? Or are you deleting the USE WITH some other way? Maybe through the DB via a DELETE statement?

    Thanks.


  • 8.  RE: Deactivate classifications?

    Posted Wed June 16, 2021 01:10 AM
    Edited by Peter Domankuš Wed June 16, 2021 01:14 AM
    Yes, we also get such error when trying it via application. We delete it via DB statements.

    I do not see anything bad about that and wonder why Maximo has such limitation so maybe somebody can explain any reasons.

    ------------------------------
    Peter Domankuš
    ------------------------------