James,
By default all nodes are registered with BACKDELETE=NO for just the reason that they *cannot* remove their own backup files. From the TSM Server, you can determine the value:
tsm: TSM> query node testnode format=detail
Node Name: TESTNODE
Platform: WinNT
Client OS Level: 6.01
Client Version: Version 7, release 1, level 4.4
Application Version: Version 0, release 0, level 0.0
Policy Domain Name: WIN_POLICY_DOMAIN
Last Access Date/Time: 02/24/2017 05:47:25
Days Since Last Access: <1
Password Set Date/Time: 04/12/2011 13:23:00
Days Since Password Set: 2,145
Invalid Sign-on Count: 0
Locked?: No
Contact: Cerner CoPath Team
Compression: Client
Archive Delete Allowed?: Yes
Backup Delete Allowed?: No <<<<========
Registration Date/Time: 04/12/2011 13:23:00
To change that value, from the TSM Server, issue:
UPDATE NODE <nodename> BACKDELETE=YES
Then from the TSM Client you can DELETE BACKUP <filename>
I'd suggest reverting back to BACKDELETE=NO once you are done, so users can't accidentally remove their protection. Good luck!
Best Regards,
Robert Luehrs