Hi
2 points here:
- Selective wipe is not Full wipe
For a Full wipe you remove all data, settings, apps etc. This would be very frustrating to users who had just had all of their personal data removed.
For Android devices as you know the Profile Owner mode does a similar thing, put a professional work profile without configuring the whole device.
But while iOS had User Enrollment, this has recently been stopped. What we wanted originally was to have a multi-platform way of ensuring that devices did not have to be fully wiped while removing corporate data.
2. Apps will be removed if they have been set prior to distribution to Remove on Selective Wipe
This setting means that when you set the setting, distribute the app to the device and install it, it will take account of this setting.
So after this if you selectively wipe the device, the app is auto-removed.
However if you didn't set this setting prior to distribution, and selectively wipe, the app won't remove.
The setting only applies when the configuration was done prior to pushing the app to the device.
Changing it now won't make a difference for existing distributed apps on devices.
Hope this helps.
------------------------------
Eamonn O'Mahony
MaaS360 Technical Sales
Dublin
------------------------------