Global Data Science Forum

Recap May 12 Virtual Meetup: Introduction to Modern NLP with Hugging Face and CORD-19

By Tim Bonnemann posted Sat May 16, 2020 02:43 AM

  

On Tuesday, we hosted our first virtual meetup: a new format that combines data science and AI talks and insights with an opportunity for mixing and mingling with other attendees and community members in an intimate, small-group setting before and after the main talk.

Our very own Nick Acosta provided an introduction to transformers, a modeling architecture that is changing the Natural Language Processing (NLP) field. During his hands-on demonstration, he provided a few examples of the NLP tasks that transformers can perform and how tools like Hugging Face's transformer library can help developers and data scientists perform these tasks quickly. He also presented an example of one such task utilizing the AI2's new CORD-19 dataset.

Watch the replay below.

Check out Nick’s notebook for this session and play along: http://ibm.biz/DSMeetup1

Head over to the forum to leave feedback and ask questions.

Join us Tuesday, June 9 at 8am Pacific (11am Eastern, 5pm Berlin, 8.30pm Bangalore) for the next virtual meetup on ML Ops.




#huggingface
#nlp
#cord19
#virtualmeetup
#Hands-on
#AI-skills
#AI-skills-feature
0 comments
806 views

Permalink