I can't speak for the PA side, Stuart can keep me honest here, but I don't expect they'd want to let you do that.
But, if you are willing to 'customize' that way, and therefore there is some logic you can use to define the set of servers, then it should be fairly easy to write a little script that you could run ever so often that:
1) retrieves the list of ALL TM1 servers that self registered to the Admin host running on the default port
2) updates the list of the servers in the special, environments specific, Admin host with the list that environment should be showing, and do that for all environments
The pattern is simple, the variable part is in the logic you'd apply on the list of available servers to begin with I suppose.
Have to admit that I find it interesting that you have a TM1 server/database that you'd want to show up in multiple environments and was wondering if this translates to the TM1 v12 service where there are 'instances', which typically map to an environment (albeit IMHO an environment could/should be able to map to multiple instances perhaps), and databases are grouped underneath those instances but are never part of more then one either.
Original Message:
Sent: Tue March 18, 2025 06:24 AM
From: Hartmut Renker
Subject: PAW on prem => Multi-tenancy
Hi Hubert,
yes, I like to show subsets of TM1Servers for each PAW environment, retrieved from one AdminHost, where all TM1Servers have self registered.
The solution could be to allow REST calls in the settings, instead of using only host:port. Or add host:port of the specific TM1Servers directly.
https://adminhost:5898/api/v1/Servers?$filter=Name eq 'tm1_server_1' or Name eq 'tm1_server_2' or Name eq 'tm1_server_3'
Kind regards
Hartmut Renker
------------------------------
Hartmut Renker
Original Message:
Sent: Thu March 13, 2025 05:03 AM
From: Hubert Heijkers
Subject: PAW on prem => Multi-tenancy
Hi Hartmut,
First up I have to correct my earlier comment, while I was excited about the fact that you can now 'easily' configure the ports for the admin host/server you effectively can't, as Stuart elutes to, make a TM1 server register itself with such admin host if it is not running on the default, SSL to be correct, port (read: 5498). So multiple instance running on different ports would only work if you managed the list of servers yourself (which obviously could be done using some automated process sourcing from one admin host/server and applying your magic to which should go where perhaps).
That said, I'm not sure I understand your last request, are you saying you would like to identify the individual TM1 servers in each of the PAW environments? If so then I need to share a secret with you as that's a long standing wish I've had myself. In that case it wouldn't need to refer to an admin host/server but could simply the the service root URL to the TM1 server itself, but I suppose one could work out from the URL which one it is as well.
Cheers,
------------------------------
Hubert Heijkers
STSM, Program Director TM1 Functional Database Technology and OData Evangelist
Original Message:
Sent: Thu March 13, 2025 03:36 AM
From: Hartmut Renker
Subject: PAW on prem => Multi-tenancy
Hi Hubert,
thanks for the answer. Yes, we are aware of patching AdminHosts via REST. Currently we think about to provide different PAW environments to different user groups. Since one can add multiple AdminHosts in the settings of a PAW environment, it would have been easy to use it like this, to get the TM1Servers from one AdminHost, where all TM1Servers are self registered:
https://adminhost:5898/api/v1/Servers('tm1_server_1')
https://adminhost:5898/api/v1/Servers('tm1_server_2')
https://adminhost:5898/api/v1/Servers('tm1_server_3')
Unfortunately that doesn't work.
Kind regards
Hartmut Renker
------------------------------
Hartmut Renker
Original Message:
Sent: Wed March 12, 2025 04:08 PM
From: Hubert Heijkers
Subject: PAW on prem => Multi-tenancy
Hi Hartmut,
There is no parameter unfortunately but nothing that stops you from copying the binary directory, just the files you need for admin host/server and give it a separate configuration as, using the config file, you can specify all port numbers.
And since you are on Linux, you could potentially just create a small docker container and start multiple of them using different port numbers that way (not need to fiddle with the configuration of the admin host/server itself that way).
Also, not sure you are aware, you can manage the list of servers available on any admin host/server instance yourself using it's REST API as well, it can even be a mix of TM1 servers registering themselves with such admin host/server instance and TM1 servers you manually add/maintain (some customers use this to manage active/passive failover scenarios).
Cheers,
------------------------------
Hubert Heijkers
STSM, Program Director TM1 Functional Database Technology and OData Evangelist
Original Message:
Sent: Tue March 11, 2025 12:10 PM
From: Hartmut Renker
Subject: PAW on prem => Multi-tenancy
Hi Stuart,
thank you for your answer. Is it possible to run multiple TM1 Admin Servers on one machine? For example on different ports? Is there perhaps a parameter PortNumber?
We already run multiple Admin Servers on one machine, but we achieved it by a (dirty) hack via LD_PRELOAD on Linux and catching and redirecting the bind calls to virtual IP addresses.
Kind regards
Hartmut Renker
------------------------------
Hartmut Renker
Original Message:
Sent: Tue March 11, 2025 09:28 AM
From: STUART KING
Subject: PAW on prem => Multi-tenancy
Hi Hartmut,
There is no way to limit the TM1 databases that are available from a specific TM1 Admin Server in an environment. If you need different TM1 databases in each environment then you must have unique TM1 Admin Servers for each environment. We do support a single TM1 databases have multiple TM1 Admin Servers.
------------------------------
Stuart King
Product Manager
IBM Planning Analytics
Original Message:
Sent: Tue March 11, 2025 05:56 AM
From: Hartmut Renker
Subject: PAW on prem => Multi-tenancy
Hi Stuart,
is there a way to restrict the TM1 servers for a PAW environment? I already tried it like this, but it did not work: https://adminhost:5898/../../../api/v1/Servers('tm1_server')
Unfortunately, only host:port can be configured as admin host.
Thanks in advance!
Kind regards
Hartmut Renker
------------------------------
Hartmut Renker
Original Message:
Sent: Wed May 08, 2024 11:19 AM
From: STUART KING
Subject: PAW on prem => Multi-tenancy
Hi Chris,
It's not just unique TM1 databases in each environment. You can also have different Workspace users and groups in each environment and different Worksapce content (books, views, workbenches, etc).
Yes, a big advantage of multi-tenancy is that you only need one deployment (installation) of Workspace to support dev and prod environments, or mutliple organizations with different users. For our enterprise customers I'm sure that multi-tenancy will commonly used with scaled deployments of Workspace on OpenShift.
------------------------------
Stuart King
IBM Planning Analytics Offering Manager
Original Message:
Sent: Tue May 07, 2024 11:56 AM
From: Chris Hewitt
Subject: PAW on prem => Multi-tenancy
Hi Stuart
Many thanks for your response - sounds fantastic! So just to be 100% sure - you can log onto a single PAW instance, choose your environment, and administer, model, write dashboards etc and have the ability to flip between different Tm1 servers in whatever capacity you have security for. Following on from this, I guess the only reason you might want multiple PAW servers might be for performance considerations?
Many thanks!
Chris
------------------------------
Chris Hewitt
Original Message:
Sent: Mon May 06, 2024 11:41 AM
From: STUART KING
Subject: PAW on prem => Multi-tenancy
Hi Chris,
It's absolutly possible to enable multi-tenancy in Planning Analytics Workspace local! We released this in 2.0.92. Please see: https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/planning-analytics/2.0.0?topic=wnia2-create-edit-multiple-planning-analytics-local-environments-local-only
Each environment (tenant) can have one or more TM1 Admin Servers. The TM1 Admin Servers are used to control which TM1 databases are found in each of the Workspace environments.
The advantage of this feature is that you only need to manage a single PAW deployment to support mulitple environments. You can use the LCM feature to migrate content between environments without exporting and importing the snapshot.
There are a few other considerations when enabling multi-tenancy. Make sure to read the linked documentation carefully.
------------------------------
Stuart King
IBM Planning Analytics Offering Manager
Original Message:
Sent: Fri May 03, 2024 07:39 AM
From: Chris Hewitt
Subject: PAW on prem => Multi-tenancy
Hi there
While I was reading a recent post, multi-tenancy was mentioned for PA local. Can someone confirm that this is indeed possible for PA local. Also to confirm my understand of multitenancy. Do this mean that modelers will be able to log onto a (single) PAW server and choose between (for example) Prod and Dev Tm1 servers, and be able to performs all admin/development tasks? Would it therefore remove the need to have separate PAW installs/environments for Prod and Dev? From a user perspective, will they also be able to log on to a single PAW URL and choose between different Tm1 instances?
Many thanks!
Regards
Chris
------------------------------
Chris Hewitt
------------------------------