You can very likely use a Python environment set up by MS Visual Studio, as long as you can locate it.
Basically a Python env is a directory that provides a consistent Python distribution, that can be enriched to fit a given usage.
It can come from a pure installation, Conda, Poetry... , be local, containerized, remote...
------------------------------
Cédric Doens
------------------------------
Original Message:
Sent: Wed July 24, 2024 07:42 AM
From: Ross Dye
Subject: Version / licensing
Can I use the environment set up by MS Visual Studio?
------------------------------
Ross Dye
Original Message:
Sent: Wed July 24, 2024 07:39 AM
From: Ross Dye
Subject: Version / licensing
Thank you
That's interesting. IBM support advised that I needed run-time license, & dev version was for development only. Many requests for run-time license price == no response.
I don't know how to set up 'multiple python environments'. I have only set up a python environment from within Microsoft Visual Studio
------------------------------
Ross Dye
Original Message:
Sent: Wed July 24, 2024 06:16 AM
From: Cédric Doens
Subject: Version / licensing
I have a Cplex Optimization Studio (COS) installed. It holds a full development license.
I have multiple Python environments, with docplex module (with Community edition by default).
In order to make one of these Python env benefit from my COS license, I activate this env and run `python setup.py` from <COS_INSTALL_DIR>/python
then it can solve large models.
I've never heard about a runtime license.
Hope this helps
------------------------------
Cédric Doens
Original Message:
Sent: Wed July 24, 2024 01:28 AM
From: Ross Dye
Subject: Version / licensing
It is a licensing issue
Apparently a separate run-time license is required
Thanks
------------------------------
Ross Dye
Original Message:
Sent: Tue July 23, 2024 10:01 AM
From: Cédric Doens
Subject: Version / licensing
Hi Ross,
I don't know Ignition (and may give it a try), but I would give it more information about Python modules location.
Have you already tried to prepend the python environment directory location (e.g. the venv where full cplex is installed) into `pythonPath` ?
------------------------------
Cédric Doens
Original Message:
Sent: Sun July 21, 2024 04:19 AM
From: Ross Dye
Subject: Version / licensing
Hi all
I have an application using docplex.cp. I am using a full development license for this.
I have built a large application and everything is running well
But when I try to run this application remotely (using a package called Ignition, the application tries to use the Community edition of docplex which I had used previously
How can I make Community edition go away?
BTW the "calling app" uses a subprocess call as below:
pythonPath = r"C:\Users\Ross\source\repos\PythonApplication1\env\Scripts\python.exe"
scriptPath = r"C:\Users\Ross\source\repos\PythonApplication1\main.py"
result = subprocess.check_output([pythonPath, scriptPath], stderr=subprocess.STDOUT)
Thanks
Ross Dye
0400669880